How a “Dress Story” Might Get you Thinking about the Benefits of Recycling

September 8, 2009

The Dress Story

As I shopped for a dress for our daughter’s wedding I experienced the “shop till you drop” phenomenon and actually had no luck.  I didn’t want a “mother of the bride” dress; that’s just not my style.  I needed something with movement, yes, that’s what I was looking for, something with movement!  After exhausting myself and anyone else who was willing to trek around with me, I had an idea worth exploring.

I am not a pack rat but do hold things I feel have value.  In the back of my closet I had a dress I wore to my sister-in-law’s wedding 36 years ago.  I saved it because it was beautiful–beautiful material, beautiful style, and it had movement!  My daughter even agreed this could be the dress!  Her comments gave me hope but it needed some work to update it a little.

We took it to a reputable designer and she felt it didn’t need much!  This option saved us money, and I got to wear a unique dress that couldn’t be found in any boutique anywhere in the entire world, at least not in 2009!

So I guess you could say I recycled the dress.  

The Challenge

And now here is the challenge to you. If you have been a successful company or organization for a while, I bet you have some things you could recycle in 2009 with a little updating using technology and ingenuity!

Maybe something in your business just needs a little dusting to be brought back to life.  Is there an employee recognition program that was successful 10 years ago and could possibly breathe new life into your business environment?  Employee engagement is the new terminology, but the concept has been around forever. 

How about a newsletter or hotline on “opportunities for improvement” that may have been part of the quality movement back in the ‘90’s.  Can you recreate it using Twitter or texting where employees send ideas as soon as they see them? 

And how about an awareness campaign to promote your message, but rather than posters you create video messages using YouTube; it could even be a contest.  Imagine the buzz around the most creative entries. 

Anything is possible.  Just think back to something that worked really well for you before and maybe, just maybe with a little tweaking it could work even better now!

Consider recycling; it has many benefits including helping you be a good corporate citizen, and providing potential cost savings to you and your organization.  Why not look through that closet! You might be surprised what you find.

Let us know if you have an old idea that you decide to recycle.

Need to discuss movement of ideas in your business? The W Group ensures its clients’ messages are visible, heard, and understood.  Awareness is step one, but you really are only successful when there is a behavior change….movement from acknowledgement to action.

Eileen Weisman is a communication strategist, a recycling expert, a dog lover, and a mother of the bride.  Contact The W Group to discuss recycling opportunities within your company or organization.

Leave a Reply

